Every Data Point is Sacred

“We create so much data as we move through the world in a typical day that it seems like overkill to be firm on the privacy of all of it, but you never know what a single piece of data will say about you. I realized after looking at my own data and accidentally learning about other users of my system I’m not entirely comfortable with this knowledge. I don’t know if I trust security companies in this business, and it dawned on me that it’s worth fighting for the personal privacy of everyone’s data, and not just obvious things like the most sensitive health-related test results but each and every single innocuous thing a company logs about our lives because you never know who could be looking at it and what kind of impact that may have.” Matt Haughey via Medium.com

Leave a Reply

